Oyster Catchers

The strand is populated by scattered groups of birds. There are sixteen oyster catchers along the strand close to where I am sitting, each sporting a long bright red beak. I count them noting only twenty nine legs visible as another bird hoists a foot out of the water. Each of the visible legs is punctuated by a comedy red-nose kneecap.

Oyster Catchers

 

This entry was posted in Small Stones Jan 2012. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Oyster Catchers

  1. Laura Hoopes says:

    I enjoy the gaudy oystercatchers at Morro Bay where I go as often as I can. A very special bird!
    thanks, Laura

  2. Louise says:

    Fantastic! I see them here too and watch them dig their beaks into the sand as waves retreat.

Leave a Reply

